Atmel AVR Micrcontrollers

AVR stands for Advanced Virtual Risc,its a modified form of Harward Architecture 8-bit RISC single chip microcontroller which was developed by Atmel in 1996. The AVR was one of the first microcontroller families to use on-chip flash memory for program storage, as opposed to One-Time Programmable ROM, EPROM, or EEPROM used by other microcontrollers at the time

Basic families
AVRs are generally classified into five broad groups:

tinyAVR — the ATtiny series
0.5–8 kB program memory
6–32-pin package
Limited peripheral set

megaAVR — the ATmega series
4–256 kB program memory
28–100-pin package
Extended instruction set (Multiply instructions and instructions for handling larger program memories)
Extensive peripheral set

XMEGA — the ATxmega series
16–384 kB program memory
44–64–100-pin package (A4, A3, A1)
Extended performance features, such as DMA, “Event System”, and cryptography support.
Extensive peripheral set with DACs

Application specific AVR
megaAVRs with special features not found on the other members of the AVR family, such as LCD controller, USB controller, advanced PWM, CAN etc.
FPGA 5K to 40K gates
SRAM for the AVR program code, unlike all other AVRs
AVR core can run at up to 50 MHz


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: